In ONE DATA, every analysis process is defined as a separate Workflow. As a result, users can draw on a comprehensive library of predefined Processors and methods which they can use to transform data, apply statistical methods or conveniently create entire analysis sequences. All existing Processors can be individually adjusted, and internal algorithms (e.g., R or Python) additionally integrated.
Accessing a Workflow
The Workflow list can be accessed either by clicking on the WORKFLOWS tab in the menu bar or by clicking on Workflows on the right.
By default, existing Workflows within the current project are sorted by modification date in descending order. They can also be sorted by name.
Using the search field at the top of the Workflow list, the user can search for a Workflow by its name.
Selecting Several Workflows
To select several Workflows from the list, hover the cursor over a Workflow item, and a small box will appear that can be ticked. Then, the selected Workflows can either be opened, deleted, or shared to other projects by choosing the respective option on the left navigation menu.
Create a Workflow
The user has several opportunities to create a new Workflow:
- From the Project overview by clicking "Create New Workflow" on the left menu.
- Within the Workflow overview by clicking "Create New" on the left menu.
The user is then directed to the Workflow editor.
A Workflow is built by adding and connecting several Processors. It can then be executed to accomplish the desired task.
Processors can be added to the Workflow by double-clicking on the blank page to open the list of all available Processors, or right-clicking to open a quick search menu. To search for a Processor, the user can type its name in the search field at the top of the list. Processors can be connected by clicking on the output node of one Processor and dragging the link to the input node of the next Processor, or vice-versa. This also provides another way to insert new Processors. By dragging the connection from an input or output node to a blank space, the Processor list is opened. Selecting a Processor will then automatically add it to the other end of the connection.
To delete a selected Processor, the user can click on the red trash icon appearing at the bottom right or simply use the keyboard delete button.
After connecting all Processors, the Workflow can be saved and run by clicking the button "Save & Run" in the upper left corner.
If the Workflow has been executed successfully, a green mark is displayed on the Processors holding output information.
For more information about Processors, use the following link.
The following action buttons are available on the left menu:
Change the name, add keywords, a description, and/or notes to the Workflow.
Display Workflow and Processor notes.
Save and execute the Workflow.
Save the Workflow without executing it.
By clicking "Job/Config State" a menu appears on the right side holding information about the status of the current job.
Displays a menu on the right side with a list of available Workflow variables. New variables can also be created and edited.
Displays a menu on the right side with a list of created jobs.
Displays a menu on the right side with a list of available reports assigned to the current Workflow. New reports can also be created.
Displays a menu on the right side with a list of dependent resources (e.g., Data Tables).
Apply an automatic layout to the Workflow making it easier to interpret.
Focus the browser view to the center of the page.
Group selected Processors.
Ungroup selected Processors/Groups.
Grouping is a useful tool in ONE DATA, for example, if you have Workflows with multiple sub-processes.
To group Processors, the user can select all Processors that should be part of the group, then click "Group" on the left navigation menu. Processors can be ungrouped/removed from a group by selecting the group or the Processors and clicking "Ungroup".
Once a group has been established, double-clicking the colored background opens the group settings, where the name and background color of the group can be changed. Clicking the - icon in the top-left corner of a group collapses it, turning the icon into a + which can expand the group again.
Moving a group will move the Processors inside it together, without having to select all of them separately first. Also, while a group is selected, using "Apply Automatic Layout" will only affect the Processors in that group while using it without having a group selected will leave the layout of the Processors inside groups unaffected and instead move the groups as a whole.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article